The Countries On The UK Travel Ban List

There are currently 33 countries on the UK travel ban list (so-called Red List):

BrazilBurundiCape VerdeChile
ColombiaD Rep of CongoEcuadorEswatini
French GuianaGuyanaLesothoMalawi
SeychellesSouth AfricaSurinameTanzania

Refusing entry: entry will be refused to non-UK residents who have been in or transited in the last 11 days from countries on the travel ban list.

Entering the UK: passengers arriving in the UK need to provide evidence of a negative pre-departure Covid test. They must also self-isolate on arrival, and the requirement to complete a passenger locator form, with fines for those who fail to comply. 

Managed isolation in hotels: this will be for those arriving from red list countries, but who cannot be refused entry (i.e. UK residents and Irish nationals). They will be required to quarantine for 11 days (no Test to Release after 5 days option), and from 15 February will have to pay to do so in Managed Quarantine Facilities (e.g. approved hotels). Passengers will receive all 3 meals a day in their rooms, and have to be accompanied by security guards if they want to go outside, for example to smoke.

More questioning of travellers at UK departure points to ensure they have a legitimate reason to travel overseas.Police checks: police are carrying out more physical checks at addresses to make sure people are self-isolating.